The Uplift: Faith, Hope & Music
The Uplift: Faith, Hope & Music Podcast
A Joke Works.....just as well
0:00
-5:00

A Joke Works.....just as well

I caught eyes with a middle-aged man sweeping up in a convenience store the other day. He looked a little down on his luck but smiled broadly as I approached. He said “Hi,” and I replied with my usual: “How’s it going?” Not missing a beat, he said, “Going to a better place.” I laughed because I knew exactly what he meant. His simple joke shifted my mind from whatever trifle was occupying it, back to the center of my faith. Like the Harley riders who exchange a thumbs up when they pass each other out on the road, I felt connected to a family of fellow believers. Faith is restorative and contagious. I paid and left the store but the memory remains. 

Evangelism is spreading the Christian gospel by preaching or through personal witness. Like my brother in the convenience store, it can be light as a feather.  Unfortunately, it often is heavy-handed and fear based. Repent or else.  For most of my twenties, I was outright hostile to the Christian message. It seemed like everywhere I went I was blindsided by someone trying to convert me. My guard was up. None of those approaches moved me toward God, but what did work was the slow and steady habit of going to church every Sunday and absorbing the message over many years. I'm certain those ubiquitous street-corner evangelists, that I encountered decades ago, meant well. But their approach backfired, building a wall instead of a bridge. 

Luckily, God does not give up. It sometimes takes a lot of knocking before we open the door. As my convenience-store brother demonstrates, if you’re filled with the spirit of God, it shines through, one way or another. His faith was top of mind, and my consciousness followed.  It doesn’t take a pulpit, or a microphone or a blog. It doesn’t take anything except the Spirit. Among Jesus’ last words to his disciples are in Mark 16, where He says: “Go into all the world and preach the gospel to all creation.”

Today, we are His disciples. I heard a preacher put it this way once: “The only thing that most people will ever know of Scripture or our faith, is how we treat them.”  St. Francis of Assisi says it this way: “Preach the Gospel at all times, and if necessary, use words.”  And as I learned the other day, a joke can work… just as well. You’ll find the song pairing, Making a Change, included in this “Best Hits Country-Rock Compilation” on Spotify  (It’s song 8). Until next time, stay safe, be brave and keep walking in the light.

Making a Change
I woke up on the right side of the bed
blew out all the ghosts living up in my head
had me a cup of coffee or two
made my bed, put on my shoes
I don’t feel the same, I’m making a change

yeah, I’m making a change
I’m gonna rearrange
yeah, I’m making a change,
making a change

I’m gonna find me a brand new tribe
follow ‘em down to a place where I can’t hide
I’m gonna find me a treasure map
dig down deep to where it’s at
I don’t feel the same, I’m making a change

yeah, I’m making a change
I’m gonna rearrange
yeah, I’m making a change,
making a change

Now I’m gonna take you to Jakes
and buy you a coke
a fat cheeseburger, some fries
and a vanilla float
and when I’m walking down the street
I’m gonna smile at everybody I meet
I don’t feel the same
I’m making a change

yeah, I’m making a change
I’m gonna rearrange
yeah, I’m making a change,
making a changeListen to "Making a Change" (song 8)

0 Comments
The Uplift: Faith, Hope & Music
The Uplift: Faith, Hope & Music Podcast
Thoughts for Living in the Light. All are welcome.